Home > Uncategorized > Twenty Five

Twenty Five

Peer pressure, peer pressure. Sigh.

You’ve gotta realize though that joy lies in the discovery and not in the obvious statement of facts, but here goes, for all you lazy ones:

  1. I was born on the 27th of September 1984 in a (then) small town in India called Indore, as the elder son of a bourgeois family.
  2. I have had Bronchial Asthma since I was nine months old.
  3. I was in school when I was 2.5 yrs old. I graduated from school when I was 16 and I was out of college and working by the time I was 20.
  4. Throughout school, I was a valedictorian. I got over this bad habit only in college. 🙂
  5. When I was in high school, we didn’t have too many career options (because we weren’t exposed to anything). One who wished to study could only be a doctor or an engineer.
  6. I was great a biology and my parents wanted me to be a doctor. I could never be disconnected from the pain on the other side of the scalpel and therefore decided that I will be an Engineer.
  7. I was writing programs in Basic when I was in 6th grade. I was doing interrupt based C programming in 9th grade and was a full blown programmer by 12th grade. However, I was over programming by the time I was in my third semester in college.
  8. I love sketching and I am good at it but I am not a good painter. I appreciate people who can paint well.
  9. I learnt Indian classical music when I was in 7th grade for three years. I am a trained vocalist (Indian) and a Harmonium player. I then migrated to playing Keyboard, upon mastering which I picked up the guitar. I am still teaching myself to play a mean guitar.
  10. I first acted in a play when I was in 8th grade. I developed a love for histrionics and indulged in it big time. I co-founded the theatre group of my college and we made some very entertaining plays.
  11. Even after having spent a good amount of time on the stage in my life, it is always nerve wrecking for me to get on one.
  12. I like sports that are fast and involved. They include Tennis, Football and Basketball. I suck at latter two of those but I love watching them all. Tennis is what I am going to teach myself in the coming years.
  13. I do not indulge in the Indian national religion of a sport: Cricket. I renounced it when I was in 9th grade, deeming it unworthy of 9 hours of my day.
  14. Three formative people outside of my family and friend, to whom I am utterly indebted for having shaped my life: Prof. Shiv Visvanathan, Prof. Vishvajit Pandya and Prof. Binita Desai. I love the three deeply and hold them in the highest regard. They have been much more than just a professor, friend, philosopher, guide…
  15. I love cooking, serving and eating good food. I can cook well, but I always need a su-chef, someone to do all the chopping and washing and the utensils afterwards 😛
  16. I watch about 2 movies on an average in a week. At least one of them is in a theatre.
  17. Apple. Apple. Apple. Apple. Apple. Apple. Apple.
  18. I love fountain pens and the act of writing. I am one of the 1728 people on this planet who maintain a handwritten journal. I have a handwriting befitting fine writing instruments.
  19. I love suits. I can suit up for the simplest of occasions and can wear them at any time, any temperature. As a young kid, I used to suit up and sit down to study.
  20. I can’t sport a stubble. Period. Men are supposed to have clean shaven faces. I hate myself when I am too lazy to shave for a day or two.
  21. I love bikes more than cars. The fact that the rider is connected to his environment is what makes the experience for me.
  22. “We like: naked women, stockings, lesbians, and Sean Connery best as James Bond. Because that is what being a bloke is. And if you don’t like it, darling, join a film collective.” – Jack Davenport as Steve in Coupling, S1E4 – Inferno.
  23. I love stuff that is handed down to me by generations. My Ray Bans were bought by my dad in 1990 and I still love them.
  24. Nothing matters more to me than my friends and family. There is way too less in the world without them that could possibly attract me.
  25. Quoting Bertrand Russell: “Three passions, simple but overwhelmingly strong, have governed my life: the longing for love, the search for knowledge, and unbearable pity for the suffering of mankind. These passions, like great winds, have blown me hither and thither, in a wayward course, over a deep ocean of anguish, reaching to the very verge of despair.”
  26. Bonus: William Blake said it all about me when remarked: “The path of Excess, leads to the tower of wisdom.” That is the path I follow.

Knowing these doesn’t give you an insight into what I am; but I hope it will give you a picture of what I could be; and someday you may want to know for yourself. Adios!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 20, 2009 at 3:38 PM

    “great a biology”, not “a”, “in”. I am curious, do like grammar nazis?

  2. January 20, 2009 at 6:01 PM

    Pardon the typo. It depends; at times I am one myself, at other occasions I can be lenient.

  3. January 21, 2009 at 4:38 AM

    Oh, I pale in comparison to you Mona, but <3333

  4. num
    January 24, 2009 at 7:28 PM

    I like.

  5. March 1, 2009 at 12:48 PM

    Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

  6. June 28, 2009 at 6:56 AM

    I would love to see a sample of your handwriting on FriendFeed. When you say handwritten journal does that mean every single day you write in it? That is impressive. Actually, your whole life appears to be impressive!

    • June 28, 2009 at 6:46 PM

      I’m humbled Trish. I don’t write everyday. My journal gets updated just like my blog: whenever I feel like it. I write semi-autobiographically; not usually to go over the day’s events. Not so impressive 🙂 Oh, and here’s a sample of my handwriting I posted on FF a long while ago: http://ff.im/4xSc6 (It’s written with a Ball Point, not a good pen) I’ll try and post something from my journal that is shareable (where I usually write with much greater regard)

  1. January 20, 2009 at 11:47 PM

Leave a Reply

